Back to Courses

Good Grief


Overview & Objectives

Good Grief is an overview of the most common aspects of healthy grieving and various perspectives on grief in the context of hospice patients and families. It contains a brief historical view of grief from a societal standpoint and reviews the five stages of grief by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. It also contains the four tasks of grieving by William Worden. With inspirational quotes throughout, a review of the factors that influence grief, how to cope with grief, and self-care during grief are discussed, as well as a summary on the hospice aide and grief. This module contains the following learning objectives:

  • Discuss societal views of grief
  • List and discuss the five stages of grief
  • Define Worden’s four tasks of grief/mourning
  • Identify factors influencing grief
  • Describe strategies for coping with grief
  • Review self-care measures during grief
  • Discuss self-reflections about grief as hospice aides


  • Learning Module
  • Group Exercise:  Five Stages of Grief
  • Test Questions
  • Instructor Answer Key
  • Attendance Sheet
  • Certificate of Attendance